Skip to content

media fast: week 3

March 4, 2012

Since my parents left for China and Little Bit came over to stay, I’ve barely thought about media. We’ve had such a fun, busy time together, the urge has never really come on. Hopefully, that has something to do with three (almost) television-free weeks!

In week three, I:

Never really wanted to watch TV. Go figure!

I messed up:

Once. When some friends invited the two of us to go see The Secret World of Arrietty, I didn’t even think about the media fast until I had pulled up in the theater’s parking lot and was smelling the popcorn. At that point, there was no going back.

Instead of turning on the television, I:

1. Baked cookies with Little Bit.

2. Watched him draw.

3. Found out how bad my balance was on his new slackline.

4. Took him geocaching and found my first nano cache!

I may have messed up, I may have gotten an hour or two of televised influence that I didn’t need, but any week filled by so many moments of Little Bit’s silliness, cleverness and infectious laugh can’t be a total failure.

Live long and drink tea,
Paige

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 6:33 pm

    My family has been without a TV for about 8 years now. Don’t miss it one bit. I just got fed up one day and listed all 3 of our TV;s on Craigs LIst and put them out there for Free. 2 of them being very nice large screen TV’s. I thought the hubs was gonna kill me when he got home and he just looked at me for a minute and then said “Good Job!” Best idea I have had ever!!
    We watch movies occasionally on a big screen hooked up to a computer.

    • March 5, 2012 10:00 am

      Congratulations, Chef Connie! That is so inspiring. Great job, and keep it up! It’s so good to hear someone who has gone without it so long, and is clearly thriving without it. Thank you for the great comment!

      • March 5, 2012 10:18 am

        No problem. It gets so much easier once you have done it for awhile. Much like anything I guess…

  2. March 4, 2012 7:34 pm

    We turned out service off for 6 months last year- it was great, felt very free-ing. After a week the kids were so busy w toys and books they didn’t miss it and I was amazed at how much more I got done each day. The hubby turned it back in for a brief run this winter, but I am counting down to “unplug day”! Enjoy the quiet.

    • March 5, 2012 10:03 am

      Isn’t it freeing? I have so much more time, and am getting so much more done without the TV on. Keep it up; I’m certainly trying to! 🙂

  3. March 4, 2012 9:47 pm

    I am glad to hear you are still going at it even though you did have a slip-up! I look forward to hear what else your going to continue to do to pass the time! 🙂

    CarrieLynn

    • March 5, 2012 10:06 am

      Thanks, CarrieLynn! I’ve loved it, even if I messed up. I think I’d be perfectly happy living like this forever, if I was allowed the occasional popcorn-laden slip-up 🙂

      Thank you for the comment!

Leave a Reply

