Skip to content

media fast: weeks 1 and 2

February 20, 2012

When I decided, on a bit of a whim, to give up television and movies for a while, I didn’t think that it would stick. I didn’t write about it, I didn’t set any goals, I didn’t have a reward system in place.

By all rights, it should have disintegrated within days. But it hasn’t. Oddly enough, it’s stuck around, and I just realized that today marks two weeks of completely shunning the television. So I decided I’d keep track of it on here, so I could look back and see how long I lasted.

In weeks one and two, I:

Wanted to watch television three times. Once, when I saw the case for The King’s Speech, once when I saw the trailer for David Tennant’s new movie The Decoy Bride, and once when I had a dream that reminded me of Inception. 

Instead of turning on the television, I:

1. Played Yahtzee with Little Bit and lost every single game. 

2. Listened to something new. Despite my stubborn belief that modern music was born and later died in Athens, Georgia, I’m managing to slowly move on post-R.E.M.

3. Took a completely different pleasure in reading. Books seem so much more consuming and entertaining with TV working its way out of my system.

4. Helped my mom bake for our church’s small group.

I’m the first to admit that I don’t always finish what I start. That life is busy and sometimes hard and television has been the opiate of Paige more than once. But there is no question that life without television is interesting and fun, and that I am a happier and more active person with the TV unplugged.

And I’m going to try to keep it that way.

-P

Have you ever gone on a media fast, or wanted to? How long did it last?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. merry permalink
    February 20, 2012 6:29 pm

    yes, yes, yes! Amazing how much your imagination reignites when the work isn’t being done for you by Hollywood! I need to follow your lead, although if David Tennant is in something new, all bets are off…. Thanks for the post, Paige!

    • February 21, 2012 10:50 am

      Thank you for the comment, Merry! I agree, David Tennant films render any and all media fasts null and void. I hope you do try it out, let me know how it goes!

  2. February 20, 2012 7:05 pm

    How wonderful! Kudos to you! 😀

    I haven’t gone on a TOTAL media fast, but I have cut back significantly on TV time. I haven’t watched any TV shows for months, but I have broken down and watched some movies on the movie channels or DVD. I have been spending a majority of the time at the library, reading, or on other creative projects when I am in the mindset (which has been more difficult than expected…a lot of resistance in that regard still going on).

    I am glad it has yielded positive results to you as well! Keep it up!

    CarrieLynn

    • February 21, 2012 10:53 am

      Thanks, CarrieLynn! You don’t have to go cold turkey; I think your commitment is fantastic. Keep up the great work, and stay creative. I know it’s sometimes the hardest thing to keep up with, but it sounds like you are on the right track.

      Good luck with your venture!
      P.

  3. February 21, 2012 12:50 am

    It’s amazing how much you can accomplish when you’re not watching TV. Even when I indulge a little bit, I realize what else I could have been doing. It’s fine in light moderation now and then, but too much and you become totally unproductive.

    • February 21, 2012 10:58 am

      I couldn’t have said it better, Stephanie! TV watching can just suck you in, so (before I started the fast) I’d try to pause a movie halfway through and think, “is this really how I want to spend two hours of my life?” If the answer was no (and it often was!), I’d turn it off and do something else.

      Thanks for the great and thought-provoking comment!

  4. sophie king permalink
    February 21, 2012 9:20 am

    wow, nice commitment. I tried to give up TV once but I failed. Not because there was something that I just had to watch but because sitting in silence, or listening to the radio, or reading a magazine whilst I eat just seems weird to me now. I have dramatically cut down on TV usage though by only watching it when I’m eating by myself, if my family are around I’ll just put some background music on and have a chat with them; all other times it is off.

    • February 21, 2012 1:35 pm

      Sophie, thanks for the comment! I completely understand, I frequently want to do something while I eat, and TV is the easiest option. However, one of my favorite writers and thinkers, C.S. Lewis, said “reading and eating are two pleasures that combine admirably”. I’ve found it to be so true! So the next time you’re alone at a meal, try picking up a new book. You might just find a new favorite pastime. 🙂

      Paige

Trackbacks

  1. 电影之家

Leave a Reply

