Skip to content

a box of cameras

January 19, 2012

I wasn’t interested in photography until after the dawn of the photographer’s digital age, so I’ve never experienced much of the film world. But when my grandmother told me about a boxful of vintage cameras she had in her garage, I couldn’t have been more exited. I’ve liked old cameras for years, and have collected them for aesthetic reasons, but when she told me that it was possible I could still shoot with these, I was positively thrilled.

But I didn’t realize what how wonderful they were until they showed up in the mail.

There’s a lovely Polaroid…

And maybe even more fun, the instruction manual that goes with it. I finally know how I should look while shooting!

Not to mention, I want to frame this page.


There’s also an Instamatic, with exactly three exposures left on the film. I haven’t gotten enough courage up to use them yet.


But of it all, I think I’m most exited about the Duaflex. I can’t stop looking at all the incredible TtV images out there. Not to mention, I love the way it looks. Or the way it did, before I mutilated it with a contraption made of cut-up socks, a Pringles can, and enough staples to rival Frankenstein’s most gruesome creation.


I’ll let you know if I a) ever manage achieve that svelte photographer look or b) ever get my Pringles monstrosity to produce any decent TtV images.

Until then, I’m off to catalog my wealth.
Paige

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2012 10:48 am

    You can still get film for that Polaroid — Fujifilm makes the old Polaroid pack film now.

    I have a Duaflex. The lens is soft in the corners, giving photos a dreamy quality.

    • January 23, 2012 12:56 pm

      Thanks, Jim! I can’t wait to look up the film.

Trackbacks

  1. trying ttv « Mastering the Art of Life

Leave a Reply

