Skip to content

meatless monday: potato leek soup

January 9, 2012

The CSA started back up this week, and already I’ve been confronted by two vegetables I have never cooked before: leeks and kohlrabi. I consider myself to be a fairly adventurous eater and cook, but I have never touched either of these before. I still don’t know how to pronounce kohlrabi, and all I know about leeks is that Tuppy Glossop once tried to make his fortune off of his nanny’s Cock-A-Leekie Soup.

Thank you, P.G. Wodehouse, for contributing to yet another part of my life’s education.

Unfortunately, knowing about Tuppy’s nanny didn’t exactly provide a recipe, so I turned, as I do in most cases, to Simply Recipes. And again, Simply Recipes did not disappoint. The first recipe I saw seemed was so simple that I couldn’t imagine that it would be flavorful enough to suit my tastes. But I had everything I needed in my pantry, and the comments did seem awfully positive.

So I made it, thinking that since it only used up half of my leeks, I had nothing to lose. And then I tried it.

This soup knocked my socks off. I still cannot believe how creamy and complex and hearty it was, and its presentation was truly beautiful.
 
 

Potato Leek Soup

3 large leeks, cut lengthwise, separate, clean. Use only the white and pale green parts, chop.
2 Tbsp butter
1 cup water
3 cups vegetable broth
2 lbs potatoes, peeled, diced into 1/2 inch pieces
Dash of marjoram
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (I only had dried parsley, and used 2 tsp dried)
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme, or 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
Sriracha sauce or other red chili sauce
Salt & Pepper

Cook leeks in butter with salt and pepper in a medium-sized sauce pan. Cover pan, cook on low heat for 10 minutes. Check often. Do not brown leeks! Browning will give leeks a burnt taste.

Add water, broth, and potatoes. Bring to a low simmer and cook for 20 minutes. Scoop about half of the soup mixture into a blender, puree and return to pan. Add marjoram, parsley, and thyme. Add a few dashes of chili sauce to taste. Add some freshly ground pepper, 1-2 teaspoons salt or more to taste. Thin with extra broth if needed.

Enjoy!

I defy even the aged caretaker of Tuppy Glossop to produce such a specimen.

Paige

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

