Skip to content

dissecting

January 7, 2012

The last of the decorations have been stowed away, the living room looks twice as big without the tree, and I think I’ve finally seen the end of the devastation my mum’s Dark Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Bars had wrought.

So with our Christmas firmly behind us, Little Bit and I decided to bring out the tweezers and the toothpicks and the hydrogen peroxide and take apart the owl pellets he got for Christmas. I can’t lie: I enjoyed it every bit as much as he did. Possibly more. I suppose it had something to do with the constant sense of discovery. Owl pellets are packed so tightly it’s impossible to dig even a little bit without uncovering something new. I imagine it’s something like what archaeologists feel. But where they are uncovering the secrets of civilizations, we were examining rodent teeth and meditating on femurs.

It may not be quite so glamorous, but I thought it was brilliant.

We picked the pellets apart in the morning, cleaned off whatever fur we could, and then soaked the bones in hydrogen peroxide for two days, changing the peroxide three different times. I wish I had a before picture, because the change really was marvellous. They went from grimy and grey to perfectly cleaned and bright white.

While it’s hard to pick a favorite part of the process, one aspect I enjoyed immensely was identifying the bones. While a couple of them were fairly obvious, some of the identification came down to little details like where the sockets were positioned or the curve of the bones. While a few bones remain mysteries, these are some of the ones we identified.

The question now is what to do with them, besides spreading them out and photographing them. We’re still not sure, but for now, they have served their purpose as being the ultimate antidote to the glitter and sweets of Christmas.

Not that I object to those, either.

-Paige

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 5:46 pm

    What a great project idea to do! Bet it was a lot of fun!

  2. merry permalink
    January 8, 2012 10:02 am

    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

