Skip to content

a December sea

December 30, 2011

I’ve never been much of a beachgoer. I’m not the best swimmer and I’ve never liked crowds. During the summer, I spent most of my time in the marshes that surround the island and peninsula. But in the winter, the ocean is mine. Long, empty beaches, beautiful stretches of grey sea and sky, cold wind and icy water droplets. That is my kind of beach living. The swimsuit shops long closed, the bookshops still warm and open.

It seems only right that I should share my love of it with Little Bit. While he will always be more enthusiastic about the summer sea than I am, it turns out that a cold beach delights him too.

 
He had his shoes off before he was out of the car.

He even found a dead jelly. We threw it back, just in case.

On the way out, we were able to watch some of the wild ponies, which were closer than we’d ever seen them before.

I think my very favorite picture of the day was just a quick shot of the sea. After photographing it so often, it feels a bit perfunctory to continue. But I keep doing it anyway, and I’m glad of it. I love the colors of this picture.

  
By the time we were finished, we were windswept and breathless. Our coat pockets were soaked from all the shells we’d collected. We had sand down our boots and in our hair. We had raced the incoming tide, and lost.    

We were happy. Because some things can only be made better by sharing.
Paige

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2011 10:04 pm

    What great shots!

Leave a Reply

