Skip to content

Christmas shopping for Little Bit

December 17, 2011

The tree is up, the wreaths hung, the nativities arranged, the cookies baked, the company arriving…and I’m still not quite done with the Christmas shopping. My family’s been trying to limit the consumerism for the past several years, and I’ve managed to keep it down to two or three presents apiece this year. It’s given me the opportunity to really think about the gifts, and I’m more excited about Christmas shopping than I have ever been before.

I started off with my brother, who isn’t so much of a Little Bit anymore. His interests include geology, being silly and nature walks.

And here is what is on the list…

Owl pellets. This was my Christmas gift at age 9, the year before I got my first microscope, and it remains one of the best in my memory. How can I not share the joy with my little brother? Especially when there are enough for me to participate.

A new book of Shel Silverstein’s poetry. It was the first poetry we shared, and we still use his marvellous wit in everyday conversations. I just hope that it is not too telling of our relationship that his favorite Silverstein poem remains “One Sister for Sale”.

A break-your-own geode kit. Because whenever breaking something open with a hammer is not only permissible but encouraged, the opportunity must not be wasted.

Hoping it all arrives before the 25th,
Paige

all images from Amazon.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. merry permalink
    December 18, 2011 9:28 pm

    Merry Christmas Paige! I love your blog!

Trackbacks

  1. dissecting « Mastering the Art of Life

Leave a Reply

