Skip to content

meatless monday: fusion noodle salad

November 14, 2011

When I lived in DC, I was always popping into my local organic market. For different things: gluten-free flour; local, humane meat; raw cheddar cheese. Or at least that’s what I told myself. What I really wanted was tucked away in the deli in unassuming packages: the vegan noodles. Little plastic bowls of chilled Asian heaven, sticky with wonderful sauces and sesame seeds and tofu unlike any I have ever tasted before.

I adored those noodles. They were my comfort food. I can remember striding around my living room, scarfing down massive quanities to emotionally stabilize myself after a nasty break up.

Those noodles meant a lot to me.

And silly ass that I am, I never thought to write down the ingredients. And now, despite loving my little town, despite loving the little kitchen store and the bakery and the art galleries and the knitting shop…I am craving those vegan noodles. Badly.

So in the spirit of healthy kitchen enthusiasm, I’ve been trying to cook up my own. I am terrible at preparing tofu, and I still haven’t got the flavors quite right. But the result has been pretty good despite that.

Fusion Noodle Salad

15 ounces soba noodles
1 1/2 teaspoons dark sesame oil
1/3 cup rice vinegar
1/3 cup soy sauce
juice from one lime
zest of one lime
1 tablespoons brown sugar
2 cloves garlic, minced
a healthy squirt of Srirachi sauce

toppings:
tat soi, cut into chiffonade
grated carrot
sliced green onions
coarsely chopped salted peanuts
chopped fresh cilantro or basil

In a large pot, cook soba noodles according to package directions. Drain, rinse noodles with cold water, and set aside.

Pour sesame oil, rice vinegar, soy sauce, and lime juice into a large bowl. Mix in lime zest, brown sugar, garlic, and Srirachi; stir until sugar dissolves. Toss in the noodle and refrigerate at least one hour. Toss salad again before serving. If dry, splash with soy sauce and vinegar.

Serve cold.

I like to cook this on Monday morning, and chop all the toppings in one fell swoop. I package it all up separately and have my own personal salad/noodle bar whenever I want it. For a single gal like me, it will last for about six days of lunches.

Barring any unforseen break ups, of course.
Allons-y!
Paige

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 11:06 am

    Love the look of this, so fresh and simple. I’m very impressed – it’s right up my street.

  2. December 8, 2011 9:05 am

    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

