Skip to content

meatless monday: pasta with roasted tomatoes and pesto

November 7, 2011

I’ve been living as a semi-vegetarian for a few years now, and I can safely say, with no hesitation whatsoever, that this is one the best dishes, vegetarian or otherwise, I have ever eaten.

Maybe it was the hot, slightly charred, slightly sweet roasted tomatoes. Maybe it was the guilty pleasure of using up yet another box of the pesto that was supposed to last me through the winter.

One way or another, this was brilliant. I suppose it had to be, coming from the wonderful mind behind Simply Delicious. I did change a couple of small things in the original recipe, and here they are: I used some gluten-free macaroni I’d needed to get rid of. While it tasted fine, the aesthetic appearance would have been enhanced by spaghetti or angel hair pasta. I also used goat cheese instead of ricotta. While they certainly aren’t interchangeable, the flavor of goat cheese worked perfectly in this recipe. And finally, just because I could, I blackened a few cloves of garlic on the stove while the tomatoes roasted and added them at the end.

 
Because garlic makes everything better.

Pasta with Roasted Tomatoes and Pesto
serves 4

1 pint box cherry tomatoes (I used more)
2 T balsamic vinegar
1 T olive oil
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
18 oz pasta
6-8 cloves garlic 
3 oz goat cheese, crumbled
1/4- 1/2 cup pesto

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Toss the cherry tomatoes with the vinegar, oil and seasonings and transfer to a roasting tray. Roast for 15-20 minutes until the tomatoes are blistered and the skin starts coming loose.

Meanwhile, cook the pasta according to package directions. Heat a skillet over medium-high heat and roast the unpeeled garlic cloves until the skins are blackened and they are soft to the touch, 10-15 minutes. Peel and slice when cool.

Combine the drained pasta, roasted garlic, tomatoes and pan juices, goat cheese and pesto. Serve with extra goat cheese and pesto for garnish.

Happy Monday!
Paige

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 8:12 pm

    I adore this and your blog. This dish looks right up my street. Fantastic.

    • November 8, 2011 5:52 pm

      I am so honored, as your blog has quickly become one of my very favorites.

  2. November 7, 2011 10:31 pm

    This looks amazing! Love the flavours…

  3. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    November 8, 2011 1:10 pm

    This looks so good… so many amazing flavors!

Leave a Reply

