Skip to content

less than true grit

October 5, 2011

I’ve always loved the gritty realism of black and white street photography, but it wasn’t until I came across a certain collection of Lee Jeffries’ homeless photographs that I was truly inspired to try the style out myself. While I had none of the beautiful, aged intensity of this Jeffries subject at my fingertips, I managed to find a model closer to home.

And if my little brother doesn’t have wrinkles naturally, it didn’t take long to engineer some.

I love how this kind of post-processing brings out every individual freckle and scar.

I also love that child’s smile.

And his more contemplative moods. 

Or perhaps it is just him I love, with his quirky sense of humor, and his steadfast belief that I am the coolest of big sisters. With his amazing geography knowledge that easily bests mine, and his beautiful voice and his wild imagination.

I defy even Lee Jeffries to find a better model.
Paige

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 6:34 am

    Nice shots there.

    • October 6, 2011 10:33 am

      After taking a look at some of your amazing portraits, I consider that high praise indeed. Thank you!

  2. denney permalink
    October 6, 2011 3:00 pm

    Great photos, he looks like a smart boy….
    Denney

Leave a Reply

