Skip to content

meatless monday: grilled eggplant

August 24, 2011

I wasn’t even thinking of this  as a MM contender when I fired up the grill yesterday. It was so simple, almost like an afterthought: a second-string side dish if I had ever seen one. 

And then I took a lovely, grilled to slightly charred perfection bite of this eggplant, and that thought floated away on a happy breeze of heaven-blessed taste buds. I knew, simplicity aside, I’d never needed meat less: here was a satisfying vegetarian main dish that was almost too good to be true. Even my carnivorous father ate seconds!

I’d love to serve it as a main dish with my favorite couscous salad and buttered green beans for a light summer meal.

Grilled Eggplant

1 large eggplant
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 cloves garlic, very finely minced
1 pinch each thyme, basil, dill, and oregano
salt and freshly grated black pepper

Heat grill.

When grill is hot, cut the eggplant into thin slices. In a small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, herbs, salt, and pepper. Brush both sides of the eggplant slices with the oil and vinegar mixture.

Place eggplant on the preheated grill. Grill about 15 to 20 minutes, turning once.

An unexpected side effect of this recipe is a sense of empowerment. I am a girl, and I can turn on a grill without blowing myself up. Hear me roar.

-Paige

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 4:41 pm

    That sounds… so good.
    I really need to make friends with an upperclassmen with an apartment so I can eat things.

    • October 2, 2011 9:18 pm

      I always make friends based on their ability to enhance my diet. It’s a fool-proof method!

Leave a Reply

