Skip to content

bloody knuckles…

July 17, 2011

…do not make for easy typing. After making the hard choice between the mailbox and the tree, I drove my bike straight into the welcoming branches of the cedar tree today. The right side of my face has turned a sickly gray in a half-hearted attempt at a bruise, and I’m still trying to pick the spikes out of my palms. 

And I’m taking the rest of the night off. There are still oh so many boxes that need to be packed, but I am going to curl up and mentally decorate my new apartment. It’s the only method I have left to escape the chaotic cardboard-and-strapping-tape mess that has overtaken my home.

My favorite resource so far for a tight-budget makeover has been the wonderful Big Book of Small, Cool Spaces, where stunning inspiration mixes with clever tips on painting, creating the illusions of space, colors and so much more. Out of the dozens of books I thumbed through at the library, this is one I just keep returning to.

When the move is over and the apartment has had her long-needed facelift, I shall probably scrape together whatever funds I have left and buy a caseload, distributing them at random for the aesthetic good of mankind. 

But for now, I need every creative stimulant I can get, which is why I am so thankful for Tanya at Dans le Townhouse and her brilliant tutorial for faux craspedia. I want to make some so bad I can’t stand it, and am salivating thinking of my roving, taped up and waiting for me with my other art supplies. And my books. And my coffee pot. And my new mint-green tea kettle. And my map of Middle Earth.

Soon, I keep telling myself. It won’t be this way much longer.

If only I could say that about the ostrich egg emerging from my skull.

P.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 6:48 am

    Good luck on the move and do feel better soon! Thank you for sharing the “wooly buttons” idea- I love it, and am always looking for new things to do with the felted balls that don’t quite work out for my necklaces 🙂

  2. July 22, 2011 6:17 pm

    Thank you for your get well wishes! I’m feeling much better now. I agree– this will be perfect for felted left overs. These would be so beautiful in different colors!

Leave a Reply

