Skip to content

meatless monday: double broccoli quinoa

July 4, 2011

from 101 Cookbooks

One of my favorite moments in The True Meaning of Smekday (and it is so, so hard to pick one) is when Gratuity is trying to find the right word for what happened when the Chief stands up to the Gorg.

“Hit in the face” just doesn’t seem to cover it. Neither does “entirely unfair contest in which the good guy bites the proverbial dust”. Relying on writing advice from Mark Twain, she settles on “smote”, which is defined as a) struck with a firm blow and b) defeated and conquered.

And I can’t think of more fitting word for how I feel right now. Smote down with a sore throat, impossible fatigue, and a headache that I am convinced is of extraterrestrial origin, all courtesy of mono, and only a week before my cousin’s wedding. Of course, I’ve heard it is traditional to lose weight for a wedding. I can’t say that was really on my agenda, but the highly uncharacteristic lack of appetite might just take care of that for me (but on the Fourth! I am convinced my citizenship is going repealed for not wanting to eat on the Fourth of July).

An unfortunate side effect of not wanting to eat is not wanting to cook, which is utterly depressing in and of itself. Especially because it is Monday, and my vegetarian alter-ego has been completely neglected. So I’m cheating this week, and posting a recipe that is not my own, that I have not made recently. I have made it though, and it is one of my personal favorites, because it sounds so very healthy, despite the lovely amounts of garlic, heavy cream and parmesan cheese that make it what it is. Not to mention, it’s from 101 Cookbooks, so it is practically guaranteed to be wonderful.

The last time I made this, if I remember correctly, I only half the broccoli called for, so I used it all on the pesto (because I eat pesto like everyone else eats ice cream) and then sautéed a big skillet full of onions and garlic to use in place of the sautéed broccoli.

Enjoy it without me,
Paige

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn permalink
    July 4, 2011 10:43 pm

    I just tried this recipe last week and really enjoyed it. Sorry to hear about the mono. We’ll have to start an internet petition campaign to allow you to retain your citizenship. You’ll just have to eat twice as much next year.

    • July 7, 2011 9:31 am

      I’m so glad you liked it! I can just see the campaign now: Keep Paige a U.S. Citizen (But if You Don’t, Please Make Sure She Gets to Live in Scotland). I can forge signatures beautifully, I wonder how I could use that on an internet petition?

  2. July 5, 2011 12:20 am

    Looks incredible! I will definitely be whipping this up in the next couple weeks. Mmmmm…

  3. Denney permalink
    July 5, 2011 8:09 am

    Paige,

    I am sorry to read you are not feeling well.
    Happy Independence Day anyway……

    • July 7, 2011 9:33 am

      Thank you Denney! Happy Independence Day to you as well.

  4. July 6, 2011 1:13 pm

    Ugh, mono. A few of my friends had it last year. One watched every episode of the West Wing and lost fifteen pounds in two weeks.

    That pesto looks /amazing./

    Are you excited about Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy?

    I am going to explode with anticipation. It’s Le Carre, and did you see the cast? Colin Firth, John Hurt, Mark Strong, Gary Oldman, Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hardy. I can’t even compute.

    Cxx
    http://desoeufs.wordpress.com

    • July 7, 2011 9:41 am

      Oh, bloody brilliant. I am shaking with excitement! So many wonderful actors in one wonderful premise… I’d heard about this one, but hadn’t seen the trailer yet. But now…the unthinkable has happened. The Hobbit has a bit of competition. Do you have any idea when it comes out?

Leave a Reply

