Skip to content

meatless monday: curried couscous

June 21, 2011

As summer’s heat begins in earnest, I find I’m craving salads more than anything else. And between the coolness and spiciness of the sauce and the salad’s merciful make-ahead qualities, this is one you’ll be wanting to make all summer long.

Curried Couscous

serves 6

1 1/2 cups couscous
1 tablespoon butter
1 1/2 cups boiling water
1/4 cup plain yogurt
1/4 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
1 teaspoon curry powder
1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
1/2 cup grated carrot
1/2 cup minced parsley
1/2 cup dried currents
1/4 cup sliced blanched almond
2 scallions, thinly sliced
1/4 cup diced red onion

Pour couscous in a large bowl, melt butter in the boiling water and pour over couscous. Cover tightly and set aside for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together the yogurt, olive oil, vinegar, curry powder, turmeric, salt and pepper.

After five minutes, fluff the couscous with a fork and pour the curry mixture on top, mixing well. Add carrots, parsley, currants, almonds, scallions, and red onions. Mix well, adjust seasonings and serve.

To make it ahead, mix the spiced sauce and couscous together, and store the carrot and onion in one container, and the almonds and currants in the other. Stir it all together just before serving.

What-ho!
Paige

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 3:25 am

    mmmmm sounds delish I will try it soon 😀 I love curry!!
    by the way I did try out the beads and posted it on my blog they are truly a lot of fun.

  2. June 21, 2011 9:52 am

    I’m on my way to go look! I hope you enjoy the couscous.

    • June 21, 2011 11:33 am

      I’m really bad at this blog thang, when you click on my name it’s not allowing me to go onto my blog…HMMMMM anyways this is my blog hahha thinkingbubbles.wordpress.com -_-
      I think I fixed the problem but I duno : S

Trackbacks

  1. meatless monday: grilled eggplant « Mastering the Art of Life

Leave a Reply

