Skip to content

paper beads

June 8, 2011

There I am, in the midst of packing, surrounded by tape and boxes and more things to be done than there is time to do them. And I make a bead. 

Well, several actually. 

Well, a bit more than several.

Well, fifty-eight.

Frivolous? Yes. Wasteful of the paper I should be using to pack? Definitely. Bloody stupendous fun? That too.

It started out with a single triangle of paper last night. And then I noticed the reject magazines from my last attempt at recycling paper into something clever (a woven basket, of which there are no pictures, for fear of future blackmail). 

What else could I do? I fell victim to circumstances and temptations and fate itself. Which might be a bit dramatic when you’re referring to magazine scraps. But I don’t think so.

They are honestly so simple it is shocking. I was inspired by this tutorial from Creative Jewish Mom, though when the time came to make them myself I modified a great deal based on a) my inability to access a computer and bad memory for directions, b) my lack of white glue, and the availability of a glue stick, and c) my superfluity of chopsticks, and the MIA status of my paintbrushes.

I’ve yet to seal them, and at first I was worried that these would join the ranks of many other projects I quit on after I’ve passed the more enjoyable, creative stage. But they are so incredibly fun to make, one has to assume that they would be fun to wear.

Not that the packing tape is paying any attention.

Allons-y!
Paige

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 9:30 pm

    ooo those look cool, how long are they? Are you planning on using it for a necklace or bracelet? If you do you must post. I’m thinking of doing it myself 🙂

    • June 16, 2011 10:01 pm

      Pishie, I am terrible with precision, and so they go from a couple centimeters long to a couple of inches long! Thickness also varies by what you wrap the paper around. I just tried a few with a toothpick, and it made a much more compact bead. I still can’t decide which I like the best.

      I’m still thinking about what to make with them. I think I might dangle a few of them vertically on miniature safety pins as a pendant…but right now I just want to look at them in the jar I photographed them in. They might just stay decor… let me know if you make your own!

      • June 17, 2011 11:33 am

        I will! Thanks so much for answering, I was reading your other posts, you have a way with words that’s just effortless to read.

  2. June 16, 2011 10:10 pm

    These are great little time wasters aren’t they. I made some recently for an assignment on recycling I had to do. I started using a thin paintbrush but then I found some sort of small instrument of torture in my daughters beatuy bag that I think she uses on idiots fingernails and it worked pretty well. Mine looked more pointy on the ends than yours. I gave them a spray with some gloss varnish and they look very cool. My favourite ones were the ones I made using text only pages from an old magazine I found. A friend of mine made some earrings out of them with orange beads at the top and they have a great retro look to them.

    • June 16, 2011 10:30 pm

      They are fantastic time wasters! Because I cut these by hand without any kind of measuring, they were almost always crooked, so I trimmed my ends.

      I’m sure all-text would be the beautiful! I’ve found a few old maps that are up next, there are so many things to experiment with…

Leave a Reply

