Skip to content

a natural phase

January 4, 2012

Some people might call it a creative rut. Others might call it an obsession.

But I like it.

It started with a particularly sweet spot of natural light and nice, clean background. I had a few natural finds I’ve been wanting to photograph, and once I started I couldn’t stop. I ended up going through every mushroom, every stick and stone, every little thing I’ve accumulated from a lifetime of loving the woods.

When I was done with my own collection, I raided my mother’s.

I even used Yorick for a photograph I especially like.

And I finally had a practical use for all the mushrooms I’ve collected and dried.

And when Little Bit brought me a fresh one, I couldn’t wait to photograph it as well.

I’ve had almost too much fun with all this, and since my last hike in the woods with Little Bit yielded some interesting finds, I feel another batch of pictures coming on. Possibly two.

And until this latest obsession wears off (and it hasn’t shown any signs of slowing down yet), I recommend keeping your natural finds under lock and key.

My mom certainly is.

P.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. merry permalink
    January 4, 2012 4:29 pm

    Incredible photography… do you ever photograph birds?

  2. January 5, 2012 7:54 am

    Thank you, Merry! I photograph them when I have the opportunity, though my mom is the real bird expert in our family. I’ll have to start trying harder, though! They are so beautiful and inspiring.

  3. February 10, 2012 9:49 pm

    Such inspiring photography! I also love the lighting used in these which have an interesting way of catching the slight shadows of the subjects. It brings me to the question of: what kind of lighting set up did you use? Unless it was an excellent use of natural light.

    I am looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    CarrieLynn

    • February 11, 2012 2:00 pm

      Hi CarrieLynn! Thank you so much for the comment and question! All photos on this blog are taken with natural light. I like setting up in front of big windows or glass doors on slightly overcast days. This keeps your shadows from being too harsh, but gives you enough shadows to keep your work from looking too sterile. I hope this helps!

      -P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

